Catching some ZZZs with Casper

Someone very wise (probably my mother) once said that the most important things to invest in are shoes and your mattress because you spend most of your day either on your feet or in bed.

As a college student who has never had to purchase a mattress because it has always been provided for me, I don’t know much about the differences between brands or the process of choosing a good one. However, one brand that has stood out to me is Casper, whose simple, monochrome ads featuring quirky illustrations are plastered all over BART station walls, BART trains, and billboards in the Bay Area.

7006a35a3d28fa660565e95b89f00504
“Where do you see yourself in 10 years?” Replace this illustration with dogs and here I am.

Generally when I think of mattress advertisements, the first things that come to mind are:

  1. Couples wearing all white looking content and probably experiencing marital bliss because their mattress really is that amazing
  2. Obnoxious window paintings telling me the local furniture store is GOING OUT OF BUSINESS, EVERYTHING MUST GO

It is one or the other, there is no in-between.

But Casper’s branding convinces me mattress shopping doesn’t have to involve either of those things. As the importance of sleep is increasingly emphasized and touted by prominent figures such as Arianna Huffington, Casper is in a great position to be the approachable, relatable mattress that serves those sleeping needs.

Speaking of sleep, if I go to sleep now I’ll be able to get my 8 hours in…

Leave a Reply

